academy

Holistic in approach, transdisciplinary in process: Projects at blocher partners are conceived of and realized holistically, with the expertise and knowledge of all the disciplines involved brought to bear along the way. It is the perspective and input that results from the respective background of the team members – and some of them may be ‘outsiders’ – which makes our designs uniquely innovative sustainable, timeless, aesthetic, functional, and an emotional delight. Just as our design proposals are structured such as to be constantly advanced further and in this way can adapt flexibly to forever changing conditions, so too do we work in a reflective vein, in a permanent beta-status. We are busy further developing our mindset, expanding our horizons, and mutually benefiting from one another. The framework we have specially created for ourselves in this regard has a name: the academy.

In the best sense of classical architecture, it combines both the imparting of knowledge and the pursuit of research. We impart knowledge, amongst other things, by running a diverse seminar programme open to all members of staff. Here, we rely on both the know-how of outside specialists and the expertise of our own staff. Alongside software training and language courses, we offer seminars to develop personal, methodological and social skills, all in the right setting: specially rented and outfitted office spaces opposite our Stuttgart head office.

The two areas, namely knowledge and research, are things we consider inseparable from each other, as they are mutually enrichening. Our goal is to generate new knowledge on an ongoing basis and input this into our teams. Conversely, we use our widely varied expertise as the basis for researching the new. In the process, we succeed in anchoring our core competences and steadily expanding our know-how edge over rivals.

For example, our staff include DGNB auditors who make certain sustainability is factored into all our departments. Then there are our design strategists, who accompany projects especially in the early phases incorporating users and their needs into the project development; and there’s the technology team which amongst other things, focusses on parametric and generative design and implements digital methods into our design processes. Not least by means of innovative tools and approaches of this kind, we succeed in individualizing the digital planning process using BIM and adapting it to the requirements of our respective clients. And our holistic approach also comes full circle here: Internal BIM experts communicate their knowledge to the other staff members in the course of regular seminars and the BIM guidelines we have developed in-company serve to support everyday work, thus guaranteeing a permanent flow of information such that the permanent beta-status never comes to a halt.

For all the exchange of knowledge, it is key to ensure there is plenty of interaction in a leisurely atmosphere, promoting dialogue, encouraging discourse. And this is what we achieve with our so-called workshop meets, where our transdisciplinary teams offer insights into their work and experts get an opportunity to whisk us away into their specialist worlds. Because constantly creating new spaces is what we consider our vision at all levels of how we see ourselves as an architecture and design office.


Feedbackseminar — Our learnings

academy

Holistisch der Ansatz, transdisziplinär der Prozess: Immer schon werden Projekte bei blocher partners ganzheitlich gedacht und verwirklicht, die Expertise und das Wissen sämtlicher daran beteiligter Disziplinen einbezogen und berücksichtigt. Der Blickwinkel und der Input, der sich durch den jeweiligen, manchmal gar fachfremden Background der Mitarbeiter ergibt, macht unser Design unique: innovativ, nachhaltig, zeitlos, ästhetisch, funktional und emotional erlebbar. Ebenso wie unser Design auf ständige Weiterentwicklung ausgelegt ist und sich dadurch den sich stets verändernden Bedingungen flexibel anpassen kann, arbeiten wir reflektierend, befinden uns in einem Permanent-beta-Status. Unser Mindset, unseren Horizont versuchen wir stets weiterzuentwickeln, um gegenseitig voneinander zu profitieren. Den Rahmen, den wir eigens hierfür geschaffen haben, nennen wir academy.

Im Sinne einer klassischen Akademie vereint die academy beides: Vermittlung von Wissen einerseits, Forschen andererseits. Wissen vermitteln wir unter anderem über ein vielfältiges Seminarprogramm, zu dem alle Mitarbeiter Zugang haben. Hierbei setzen wir gleichermaßen auf das Know-how externer Experten sowie auf die Expertise unserer eigenen Mitarbeiter. Neben Software-Schulungen und Sprachkursen werden Seminare zur Weiterentwicklung persönlicher, methodischer und sozialer Kompetenzen angeboten. Eigens hierfür angemietete und ausgerüstete Büroräume gegenüber dem Stuttgarter Headquarter bieten den richtigen Raum.

Die beiden Bereiche – Wissen und Forschen – betrachten wir jedoch nicht getrennt voneinander, sondern als gegenseitige Bereicherung. Unser Ziel ist es, ständig neues Wissen zu generieren, dieses in unsere Teams zu tragen. Umgekehrt nutzen wir unsere vielfältige Expertise als Grundlage um Neues zu erforschen. Dadurch gelingt es uns, unsere Kernkompetenzen zu verankern und unseren Know-how Vorsprung gegenüber anderen stetig auszubauen.

So zählen zu unseren Mitarbeitern etwa DGNB-Auditoren, die das Thema der Nachhaltigkeit in allen Bereichen etablieren; Design-Strategen, die die Projekte insbesondere in frühen Phasen begleiten, den Nutzer und seine Bedürfnisse von Anfang an in die Projektentwicklung einbeziehen, sowie ein Technologie-Team, das sich unter anderem mit parametrischem und generativem Design befasst und digitale Methoden in unsere Gestaltungsprozesse implementiert. Nicht zuletzt gelingt uns durch innovative Tools und Ansätze dieser Art, den digitalen Planungsprozess über BIM zu individualisieren, den Bedürfnissen unserer Bauherren anzupassen. Der Kreis unseres holistischen Ansatzes schließt sich auch hier: interne BIM-Experten geben ihr Wissen in regelmäßigen Seminaren an die anderen Kollegen weiter, und ein hausintern erstellter BIM-Leitfaden dient als Unterstützung im Alltag, sodass ein ständiger Informationsfluss gewährleistet ist, der Permanent-beta-Status nie zum Stillstand gelangt.

Bei allem Wissensaustausch darf aber auch der Austausch in lockerer Atmosphäre nicht zu kurz kommen: Den Dialog zu fördern, einen Diskurs anzuregen, gelingt uns mit unseren sogenannten Werkstattgesprächen, in denen unsere transdisziplinären Teams Einblick in ihre Arbeit geben, aber auch Fachleute die Möglichkeit bekommen, uns in ihre Welt einzuführen. Denn: Immer neue Räume zu erschließen ist, was wir in unserem Selbstverständnis als Architektur und Designbüro – auf sämtlichen Ebenen – als unsere Vision erachten.


Das sagen Mitarbeiter über die academy